Blue on Black: The Lazarus Effect (2015)

Biff Bam Pop!

I did it again – I broke my “No new horror movies!” rule. I thought a Frankenstein-esque mad scientist film about bringing the dead back to life in a secret lab, a film that has Ray Wise (aka Leland Palmer) and Donald Glover (aka Childish Gambino) in the credits, could do no wrong. For about 40 out of its 83 minutes I was right. It was fantastic. But then my fear set in. Not the good kind of fear that you want from a horror film, but the fear of a bad ending. I leaned over to my boyfriend halfway through and whispered, “This is awesome! The ending’s going to suck, isn’t it? Because it’s 2015?” And he whispered back, “Definitely. Sorry.”

I hate when he’s right.

Frank and Zoe (Mark Duplass and Olivia Wilde) are medical researchers who have spent years developing a serum intended to assist in the recovery…

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

